Project-Based Learning

 

 

 

I can safely say that Project-Base Learning is in its beginning stages; even though schools are starting to adopt it, there is still room for growth. I was wondering if my son’s school practiced PBL, so I asked him how many projects he did in his third grade class as a group. He said he did one group project where he had to draw the floor plan of their room and write proper dimensions without the use of technology. He said he really enjoyed working with his peers and learning a little more about the area of a room. I was really glad to know that he did get involved with some aspects of PBL, but I wish he would have done more group projects and used more digital tools. My son’s class is an example of the lack of PBL practices in some schools. Moreover, in the classrooms I see day to day at work, there is absolutely no Project-Based Learning. It would be really exiting to see the introduction of PBL at my place of work, maybe that’s something I can bring up at the staff meetings. Because the students I work with are English Learners; therefore, they can really benefit from working in groups and using technology to complete their projects.

On the other hand, I do remember experiencing PBL as a student in high school as well as in college. During my senior year in high school, for my English class, we had to create a radio station show. I remembered we all took a part in the show and for some reason created name tags for each member. I remember enjoying the project very much, as far as learning; however, I might of improved social skills and English language skills. Additionally, in college I remember being involved in a group project where we had to take pictures of Downtown L.A and create an infographic presentation. I enjoyed working in teams, and I remember taking the role of the group leader. I remember my professor complementing me on my leadership skills; and honestly boosted my self-esteem.

My experience with my college group project leads me to my next point which is that I find PBL to be a very fun and engaging way of learning. The students can learn to work with technology for research and project management with the use of digital tools such as google classroom suite, and  http://www.d2l.com. As far as disadvantages is concerned, the students that are not very interested in the topic can become bored and result in a lack of learning.

http://www.d2l.com/

https://www.google.com/edu/products/productivity-tools/classroom/

 

 

3 thoughts on “Project-Based Learning

  1. I agree if a subject is not interesting, the project will be worthless. I have had a lot of fun with project based learning. I would have had so much fun in creating a radio show! Project based learning is quickly replacing older forms of education, even though it’s in its early stages.

    Like

  2. I love that you had such a great experience from the PBL project on creating the radio show! I think that the more projects introduced in the classroom will definitely benefit the students just as it has benefited you and your family. I also feel that depending on the type of school you are at or the type of classrooms are all on different levels of incorporating project based learning. I am positive that if you bring your experiences to the classroom and meetings it will make a change in your teaching and the engagement of students.

    Like

  3. I have seen that the school are trying to use more PBL. The problem is that many teachers, especially the ones who have taught for man years do not like change. I have talked to many of them and they resist change. They prefer the direct instruction teaching style. With the world becoming more technology and collaboration based, the students need to feel comfortable working in groups.

    Like

Leave a Reply

