About Me

A brief bio…

I was born in Mexico City in 1982. I spent my childhood running around the premises of a gated community. My father was starving artist, and my mother was a marketing rep for a popular beauty product brand. When I was eight years old, my parents split up, and my mom brought me to the United States along with my younger brother.

I will fast-forward a bit to my high school years. I graduated from Pomona High with honors and a dream of becoming a dancer and an architect…interesting combo, I know, but I was young. Both dancing and designing buildings became challenging so I decided to change my major to Graphic Design. I then transferred to Cal Poly Pomona with as a Graphic Design major. During my junior year at Cal Poly, I became a single mom of a wonderful boy and decided to take a year leave of absence.With great effort, I graduated from Cal Poly Pomona in 2009 with a Bachelor of Fine Arts with emphasis in Graphic Design degree. Due to the economical challenges our country was facing, it was very difficult for me to find a decent paying job that would provide for me and my son. So I worked several jobs at once and was a freelancer on the side.

Some of those jobs included working for several school districts as a teacher’s aid. There is where my teaching journey began.┬áThe challenges that I faced during my employment with those districts gave me strength and motivation to pursue in a career in education.

I now work at Central High School in Barstow Ca. where I help English learners with their school work. I love my job, I’m learning so much and I look forward to grow as an educator.

My Video